Regnie wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Regnie wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Regnie is a wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France and is one of the most recent to gain Cru status. Only Gamay is permitted here unlike other cru Beaujolais appellations that can include Pinot noir in the assemblage. It covers some 386 hectares in the communes of Lantignié, Régnié-Durette in the southern part of the Beaujolais cru area.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy