Morgon wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Morgon wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Morgon is a wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France producing deeply-coloured red wines from the Gamay grape. The wines are produced exclusively in the small commune of Villié-Morgon.
The character is imparted to the grapes by the ageing schist in which the vines thrive.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
We became particularly fond of Morgon wines on a recent trip to the Beaujolais region. We were enchanted by the various offerings of the compact Cote de Py lieu dit within the Morgon appellation as well as the Les Charmes lieu dit. There are seven climats or lieu dits in all namely Côte de Py, Les Micouds, Javerniere, Les Grands Cras, Les Charmes, Corcelette and Douby.
Anyone who has experienced some of the better wines from this appellation will be totally captivated by the charming nature of these elegant wines.
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy