Julienas wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France

Foodtourist.com Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Julienas wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Julienas is a wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France which produces red wines that are somewhat different in character to those from surrounding areas due to the presence of clay soils as opposed to the more common granite soils of the region.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
Look for labels that include the names of La Bottière, Les Capitans, Les Chers and Les Paquelets which represent the best areas of the appellation.

Foodtourist.com - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy