Fronsac wine appellation in the Bordeaux region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Fronsac wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

The Fronsac wine appellation lies in the Bordeaux region of France. The appellation was highly regarded in the 17th and 18th centuries but its reputation started a long and slow decline.
Recently, however, new energy has been injected into the region and some stellar wines are once again being produced and being sold at very reasonable prices.
The appellation was known as Cotes de Fronsac until it was changed to the current Fronsac in 1976. The appellation extends over the communes of Fronsac, Galgon, La Riviere, Saint-Aignan, Saillans, Saint-Germain-La-Riviere and Saint-Michel-de-Fronsac which all lie on the north bank of the Dordogne River. The appellation status was originally granted in 1937.
The appellation covers the production of red wine only and the permitted grapes are the standard Bordeaux varieties of Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Cabernet Sauvignon as the principal varieties and Malbec (Cot), Carmenere and Petit Verdot as minor varieties. The wine must consist of at least 80% of the principal varieties. Neither Carmenere nor Petit Verdot can comprise more than 10% of the blend.
The village of Fronsac and some interesting information about the wine appellation are included in the book entitled The most beautiful Wine Villages of France which you can order by clicking on the link below.
   - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy