Coteaux du Languedoc wine appellation in the Languedoc Roussillon region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Languedoc wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Languedoc (formerly Coteaux du Languedoc) is a broad wine appellation in the Languedoc Roussillon region of France extending from near Nimes in the Gard department right down through the Aude, Herault and Pyrénées-Orientales to the Spanish border past Collioure.
The appellation covers 5 communes in the Aude department, 144 in the Hérault and 19 in the Gard. The appellation was initially created in December 1985 under the name Coteaux du Languedoc.
Red, rose and white wines can be produced. The white grapes that can be used are Bourboulenc, Clairette, Grenache Blanc, Marsanne, Piquepoul, Roussanne, Tourbat and Vermentino along with Carignan Blanc, Macabeu, Terret Blanc and Viognier.
Red wines can be made from Grenache, Lledoner pelut, Mourvedre and Syrah supported by Carignan, Cinsault, Counoise, Grenache Gris, Morrastel (the same as the Rioja grape Graciano), Piquepoul, Rivairenc (an ancient, indigenous grape also called Aspiran) and Terret Noir.
Rose wines can be made from most of the red and white grapes above.
Certain geographic designations within the Languedoc appellation have the right to attach their name to the appellation. These include Cabrières, La Clape, Grés de Montpellier, La Méjanelle, Montpeyroux, Pézenas, Picpoul de Pinet, Pic-Saint-Loup, Quatourze, Saint-Christol, Saint-Drézéry, Saint-Georges-d'Orques, Saint-Saturnin, Terrasses du Larzac and Vérargues.
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy