Chiroubles wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Chiroubles wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Chiroubles is a wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France producing elegant red wines made from the Gamay grape (although 15% of Pinot Noir is permitted until 2015).
Like other quality Beaujolais appellations the vines grow on granite soils which seems to particularly promote the expression of the best qualities of the Gamay grape.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
Chiroubles is one of the ten crus in the Beaujolais area and only vineyards that fall within the Chiroubles commune can attach this name to their wines. The extent of the vineyards is some 350 hectares. The wines from here are strongly influenced by the granitic soils found in the commune and also for the extra elevation at which they grow as Chiroubles is higher than the surrounding communes.
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy