Chenas wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Chenas wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Chenas is a cru wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France producing powerful and long-lasting red wines from the Gamay grape.
It is only a relatively small appellation with an area a little over 250 hectares but the wines are emerging as a very good value cellaring proposition. The appellation covers two communes (Chénas and La Chapelle-de-Guinchay) in two départements.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy