Brouilly wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France Restaurants, Wine, Travel, Opinions

Brouilly wine appellation
Wine appellation

Reviewed By

Sue Dyson and Roger McShane
Country: France

Brouilly is a wine appellation in the Beaujolais region of France producing deeply coloured red wines made from the Gamay grape (although 15% of Pinot noir can be used untill 2015). It lies on the slopes of the mountain of the same name and includes the communes of Cercié, Charentay, Odenas, Quincié-en-Beaujolais, Saint-Étienne-la-Varenne and Saint-Lager.
There are three levels of Beaujolais wines. The first level is labelled Beaujolais, the second is labelled Beaujolais Villages (where the grapes are grown in specified communes) and the third level is the ten 'crus' where the finest wines are made (Brouilly, Chénas, Chiroubles, Fleurie, Morgon, Moulin-à-Vent, Saint-Amour, Juliénas, Côte de Brouilly and Régnié).
The vines here grow on the favoured granite base. There is a lieu dit here that is well known called Pisse Vielle. A lieu dit is a vineyard or defined area within a Beaujolais appellation where the climate or soils are particularly favourable for the production of interesting wines. The appellation rules allow the Pisse Vielle name to appear on labels as Brouilly Pisse Vielle.
     - Independent commentary on the Web since 1996

Copyright | Disclaimer| Privacy Policy